Getting to know people in my new neighbourhood since opening the botanical pop up on Tory Street has been one of my favourite things about working from the heart of the city. It’s the people that make the place, and Tory Street is the perfect example of that. From art collectors to fashionistas and organic sellers, I can honestly say everyone who has been in to see us is just marvelous. It’s very inspiring having these people around me and knowing I am not the only one on the front line of business ownership is a warm fuzzy feeling, too.  It got me thinking how lucky I have been to meet the people and faces behind these businesses from around the city and I wanted to start sharing the wonderful people I meet day to day in the work that I do.

My first business owner I chose to interview is Tom Mackie, the owner and creative mind behind Elliott Creative on Tory Street. Tom grew up in Oamaru but has lived in Wellington for seven years. Elliot Creative is a small boutique fine art framing workshop that makes bespoke, handcrafted, contemporary frames and recently they’ve started to recycle the timber off-cuts to make other wooden objects such as spin tops.

Meet Tom:

tom

Tell me your favourite suburb or part of town? My favourite part of town is Ghuznee Street; I go for the coffee and stay for the banter.

 

What do you think is missing in Wellington? A BYO Mexican restaurant but I Googled to double-check and it turns out Tequila Joe’s is BYO between Wednesday and Saturday, so I guess now Wellington has it all.

 

What do you do outside of work? I’m a keen fisherman; it’s how I relax and take my mind off things. I also exploring new areas; some of my favourite recent discoveries are Red Rocks, Otaki Forks, and Lake Ferry.

 

Our little Tory Street neighbourhood has been through it the past few months since the EQ. How did this affect your business, did you have to set up elsewhere, and how is it now that you’re back? I’m new to Tory Street, having only opened my studio here six weeks ago. Before that, my studio was on Marion Street but the building had to undergo scheduled strengthening work. Luckily, my business hasn’t been affected by the Kaikoura earthquake.

ElliotCreative3060A8202-Edit.jpg

Describe your brand/what you do and how you want people to see it?

Elliot Creative is a small boutique fine art framing workshop. We make bespoke, handcrafted, contemporary frames and recently we’ve started to recycle the timber off-cuts to make other wooden objects such as spin tops.

 

Screen Shot 2017-07-11 at 12.41.51 PM.png

 

How did you start your business? When I started to make frames for my own art work, I discovered that I wasn’t the only one looking for framing that continues the traditional quality, handcrafted finish but with a fresh contemporary approach.

If you could share one piece of business advice what would it be? Keep true to your brand.

_M5A5038.jpg

 

Posted by:Yvette Edwards

Leave a Reply

