One of my favourite workshops I teach is my Christmas Wreath Workshop.  I love the festive season and I like that I get to spend time with our guests for the day, chatting and creating.  We always have an eclectic mixture of people, and personalities, who attend the workshops.  Some who come along are creative by nature, while others say they are not creative at all.  The point of the day is that everyone always completes something they are proud to take home.  This year’s wreath workshop was hosted on Cuba Street here in Wellington at Sally Eagle’s bridal studio.  It’s a gorgeous space with lots of light and the calming decor makes it’s the perfect place to inspire creativity.

wreath-workshop-table-set

I love getting to meet people, our customers, face to face.  I try and get around to talk with everyone as much as I can, whether I’m helping them or just want to sneak in a quick hello.  People always have lots of questions about flowers, floristry and what Mr. Edwards and I do in our business.  People LOVE talking about our weddings!  Sometimes people come along that I’ve worked with before, brides or mothers of brides etc., and it’s always really nice to see them and hear how they are getting on and hear their news.

wreath-workshop-action-3

It’s always really flattering when someone says they follow us on social media, they love what we do and like what we post.  They usually tell me what they would like to see more of too, so we always appreciate the feedback.  Lucy Revill, the blogger from The Residents of Wellington, came along to this workshop.  She attended a workshop we did earlier in the year and loved it and wanted to come along to another – I’m hoping she’ll be one of our regulars for 2017.

wreath-workshop-lucy-revill

For this workshop, I chose a foliage wreath design so it could dry over the days to Christmas.  We had lots of foliage from a grower in the South Island.  Holly and Eucalyptus are always popular, and I loved the delicate Pittosporum we had.  We got through 15 bags of moss and the most popular ribbon to use for decorating was the gold leaf garland, the forest green double satin, and the hessian – all of which I would say is pretty “on trend” with current fashions.

wreath-workshop-action-4

Mr. Edwards and I foraged the perfect sized pine cones the day before from one of my secret spots.  My own style note for you: As lovely at the big cones are, they are hard to attached to the wreath, so smaller ones are ideal and much easier to fix into place.

wreath-workshop-pine-cones

At all of our workshops I make sure to cover all the skills needed to make the piece and then, as I work around the room, I can usually see at what level people are working and then tailor the advice individually.  Some attendees can be pushed a bit further while there are others who are just there to have fun.  It’s nice that everyone wants something different from the experience and I love sharing my knowledge with people.

wreath-workshop-ladies-at-work

My favourite part of any workshop is seeing everyone so pleased with themselves and what they have created.  Of course, the delicious tea and cake we all enjoy during these sessions is something we all look forward to as everyone is always ready for a cuppa.  This time we had Tomboy do the catering and it was delicious: little scones, Victoria sponge bites, and cinnamon and orange brioche.  I can report of all of them were scrumptious.

wreath-workshop-cakes

Photo Credit : Lucy Revill

If you’re making your own wreath at home, here are a few of my tried and true tips:

  • Don’t add too much moss to the frame at the start, it makes it hard to push extra bits and decorations in at the end.
  • Keep your wire reel tight as you bind and make sure if you do break off you anchor securely onto the frame again before you start more binding.
  • Try to bind in everything you want as you work around the frame.  It’s really difficult to add in larger pieces once you have moved onto the next portion of your wreath.

wreath-workshop-finished-wreath

‘Tis the season for merry-making, so don’t forget to have fun when creating your own wreath at home.  Be creative and play with shapes, styles and materials.  Anything goes.

Merry Christmas everybody !

wreath-workshop-ladies

Posted by:Yvette Edwards

2 replies on “Workshop : A Christmas Wreath

  1. Loved this workshop and love the photo of my mum and aunties!! Can you please send it to me via email? Thanks so much for a great day, Marie Y

    Like

Leave a Reply

